Hoverounds Can Be Fun


If you read my story “Selling – Not My Cup of Tea”, then you know that I have made some really good friends on Facebook.  One of these friends is having surgery on Wednesday.  Her name is Niecy, and Niecy and I met playing Mafia Wars.  I was playing this game called Farmville, and in order to get a “Hot Rod Tractor”, you had to play Mafia Wars and level up a couple of times.  Well, I just had to have that tractor, so I started playing Mafia Wars.  Niecy was one of the first people to join my mafia and we didn’t say anything to each other for a long time, but once we started chatting, we never stopped.  We have become very good friends and she is so funny and I love talking to her because I laugh so hard over many of the things she says.

Anyway, when we first started chatting, Niecy told me she was having problems with her knee.  She is a very active person and she wasn’t able to ride her bike or do the things that she really enjoyed, so she spent part of her time icing the bad knee and chatting with me on Facebook.  I use to joke with her by telling her that she was just getting old, but she always fired back at me with a comment and we would go back and forth with smart comments to each other, but we always ended up laughing.

Niecy and I are always going on about something and we share our funny stories with each other.  We pick at each other on the live feed and by the sound of some of our comments, you would think that we don’t like each other at all.  But we always know that other one is just kidding around; except for that one time.  Now, I don’t know if both of us were just in a bad mood or what, but I posted a comment on one of my mafia member’s post, and Niecy made a comment about the comment I had made.  Well, I got a bit ticked about the comment that Niecy made about my comment, so I kicked her out of my mafia.  Niecy sent me a message and said, “so u removed yourself from my mafia?”  My answer was, “no. I removed you from my mafia. I was upset with your comment on that post.  I didn’t care for it.  I almost deleted you as a friend, but I didn’t.”   Then, the next thing I knew was that Niecy had unfriended me from Facebook.  It was like she never existed.  I couldn’t even see her posts on our mutual friends’ posts.  Well that made me madder.  I thought, “The nerve of her deleting me!  How could she do that?”

Now, anyone who knows me knows that I am a very stubborn person and when I get mad at someone, that is usually the end of the friendship.  Normally I would just go on with my life and wouldn’t let it bother me.  But this was different because I didn’t want our friendship to end.  Although I was mad, I was sad at the same time.  I knew I had hurt Niecy’s feelings, and I didn’t know how I was going to fix it.  Day after day, I kept wondering if she would ever try to contact me.  On the fourth night of not talking to Niecy, I had given up on her contacting me so I started thinking about how I could contact her.  Then I remembered that we had talked to each other on the phone once.  I never delete any thing on my cell phone, so I looked back to the time we had talked and found her number.  I took a deep breath and I pressed “call”.  And, wouldn’t you know it, I got her voice mail.  At first, I started to hang up, but then I thought, “You owe her an apology.”  So, I left a message that went something like this: “Hi Niecy.  This is CJ.  I was hoping you would pick up the phone, but you didn’t.  I started thinking about what happened, and you know that my philosophy is to “Never have any regrets”?  Well, I regret what happened the other night and I wanted to let you know how sorry I am.  You are my friend.  So, can you call me back, please?  Take care!”  Then I ended the call.  I didn’t hear from her that night, but the very next day, I had a Facebook friend request from Niecy and I was relieved and happy.  And come to find out, she was happy and relieved too.

Anyway, Niecy is having knee surgery this week and we were chatting last night.  She said that she had gone to Wal-Mart and her husband had suggested that she use one of those “Hoverounds” that the store has for handicap people.  Of course she refused to use one.  I told her I thought it would be fun riding around the store on one of those things and it would be even more fun if it had a horn on it.  After we finished chatting, I started thinking about some of the people who use Hoverounds.  In my opinion, many of the people who ride around on them don’t really need to.  To me, most of them look perfectly capable of walking and some actually look like they need to walk.  But there are some people who do really need them.

I remember one day when I entered Wal-Mart, this one elderly man was getting on a Hoveround.  As I walked around him, I overheard his wife trying to tell him how to drive it.  About fifteen minutes later, I ran into them again and the wife was fussing about the way he was driving.  I focused my attention on finding the item I was looking for, and then my concentration was broken by a loud crash.  The old man had run into a display rack and the items were falling all over the floor.  I could tell he was embarrassed and his wife continued to fuss at him.  I giggled a little bit and went over and started helping the woman put the stuff back on the display rack.  Then I went back to looking for what I needed.   Just as I found the item and as I started to leave the aisle, I heard the women yell, “Watch where you’re going!”  When I turned to look, I saw him sitting on that Hoveround and he was flying right toward me and his eyes were as big as quarters.  To avoid being hit, I jumped out-of-the-way and the woman was running behind him saying, “Put on the brakes!  Put on the brakes! ” And just before he had another collision, the woman was able to stop the contraption.  She looked at me and asked, “Are you okay?”  I nodded and assured her that I was fine.  Then she looked at her husband and said, “Get off that thing before you kill someone!”  He said, “I’ll take it back to the front door and I’ll wait for you there.”  She said, “Oh no you won’t.  We going to leave this thing right here and we’re going to walk to the front door.”  He said, “We can’t leave it here.”  She said, “Yes we can.  You are never driving one of those things again.  I’ll tell the Wal-Mart Greeter to send someone to get it.  Now come on!”  The old man got off the Hoveround and I giggled as they walked off.  But I promise you, that even to this day, when I see someone driving one those things, I go in the other direction.

So, Niecy, I know you will be one of the first to read this today, and I want you to know that I will be thinking of you Wednesday.  I am sure your knee will be like new before long and you’ll be riding that bike before you know it, and you’ll never need a Hoveround.  But, when I finally make it up your way, we’re going to Wal-Mart, and we’re going to ride around on one of those things, just for the hell of it.  I figure if everybody else can do it, then we can too!   😛

Leave a Reply

